Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#765366 05/29/12 09:40 PM
DeboraD Offline OP
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
Golden Years can be truly golden when you pursue old dreams or create new goals. If yhou ever dreamed of becoming a writer, find inspiration and tips here. If you are already a journalist or copywriter, where do you find work? What's your favorite type of project? Thanks for commenting!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
I agree! My husband and I are finding our later years very exciting. He has taken up photography while I am exploring new spirituality paths.

And because we know that life really never ends, the best is yet to come. So we liken our stay here on earth as a grand and glorious field trip.

Anyway, in the past I worked as a newspaper stringer, columnist, freelance writer and magazine editor. Today, I write essays, self-help and spirituality e-books. I am self-publishing. I love the editorial and artistic control over my work.

DeboraD Offline OP
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
Who do you use to self-publish? I'm looking into that now and there seem to be a milion chilces!

L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
Yes, there are so many companies vying for our dollars! Lisa Shea did a lot of research on this and she chose to go with Lulu. Amazon has its own self-publishing service called CreateSpace. There are pros and cons to every company. Are you planning on printing an ebook or print copy?

I opted to self-publish on my own by going directly to Lightning Source which is the major printer for most major publishing houses. I did this only because none of the self-publishing companies could accommodate my first title's format which is a flip book and had reversed pages. I literally had to start my own publishing house but there are benefits to this, too. I have many titles to come but if you have only one, I would consider choosing one of the self-publishing companies instead.