logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#337944 09/02/07 12:17 PM
P
OP Offline
P
Hi. Im a newbie and wish that i had found this place earlier.

I had my miscarriage on the thursday 21st of June this year and i still cant get my head around the fact that my baby is gone.

I was what i thought was 11 weeks pregnant when i started bleeding on the saturday before the miscarriage (not much but enough!) and i phoned the hospital straight away and was told "some women who bleed go on to lose their babies and some dont"!!! so i tried to take it easy for a couple of days until our scan on the tuesday which we had and although i was still bleeding it was brown and no-one seemed to care. The scan was weird. The heart was beating away but the baby was tiny - about 7 weeks. I was happy but disapointed because we thought we were further on.

On the wednesday the bleeding got red and heavier and i started to get pain. I got sent home from work and my sister in law looked after me till my husband came home. The bleeding wasnt heavy enough to go into hospital so i stayed home. The next day i phoned in sick to rest and in the afternoon i went to the toilet before having a shower and the sac came out.

I was devestated. I called my sister in law but couldnt get her so i phoned my mother in law after the hospital. Then i phoned my husband. He was devestated too. We went to the hospital where i was placed in the middle of the maternity ward listening to babies cry all afternoon. I was marched through the early pregancy ward to get a scan to check it was all gone and the nurses patronised me all day. "you can try again straight away if you like" "it wasnt meant to be" "its more common that you think" and my fave "sometimes something goes wrong when sperm meets egg and body took a while to catch up" Thats what i was told. I was also told my an impressed nurse that the way my body went about it was "neat" as the sac was intact!!!