logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#541688 08/08/09 02:12 AM
M
OP Offline
M
for those of you who quit and received unemployment, can you tell me more about how you did it/ the methods you used, etc? thank you

Sponsored Post Advertisement
D
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
BellaOnline Editor
Wolf
D
Hi Meowmeow,
Receiving unemployment if you quit is extremely difficult. You need to prove that you HAD to quit for whatever reason...gross misconduct of your employer, harrassment or something along those lines. Keeping in mind that it is an employer tax and when they do get around to researching your case and if they hold a telephonic interview with the employer, you will need to prove your case. As an HR Manager, I've been a part of many of these interviews and never had anyone win unemployment that quit. They tried to claim that they didnt know the policy, unfortunately the fact that the policy was made available on the company Intranet which they had access to went against them...
I even had someone quit, file a claim, get approved for benefits and then when the paperwork came back to the company with that person's name listed on the roster as receiving benefits against the company, the agency was called, benefits stopped and now they have to pay back the money.
I heard that in rare cases it's possible, but I've never seen it happen in almost 20 yrs of HR. I would also be interested in hearing if there have been any success stories on people that have quit and received benefits.
Meowmeow, for whatever reason that you may need to quit in today's job market, I do wish you luck!!!

Dianne Walker

Action Movie Editor
Action Movies Site

How do I relax? I run!
Grandma to Half Marathon
M
OP Offline
M