Print Thread
#718518 10/07/11 09:44 PM
M
missyT Offline OP
Shark
OP Offline
Shark
M
Hi. I'm new to the Buddhist forum. Often I've read huddled quotes or sayings and felt very moved by them. I'm looking to gain more knowledge about this practice. I have a friend inCA that practices a certain type of Buddhism for which I cannot remember the name.i know she s affiliated with SGI... Anyway, I'd like to hear stories about how this practice has affected you.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
missyT #718605 10/08/11 01:48 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Tiger
BellaOnline Editor
Tiger
Hi Misstalia, and welcome to the forums laugh

I've always thought Buddhism is such a beautiful, and peaceful practice. For me, it was having friends who practice Buddhism, and seeing that they really walk their walk, that drew me to learn more about it.

Deanna Joseph

Visit the New Age Site and Forums

What are your Soul Gifts? Discover your true nature and potential, and learn who you are on a Soul Level with a Soul Realignmentâ„¢ reading.

missyT #718631 10/08/11 10:45 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
Hi misstalia, welcome! SGI (Soko Gakkai International) teaches a form of Nichiren Buddhism - I haven't done a full post on this yet, but I talk a little about it in this post on Japanese Buddhism if you are interested. Otherwise, the articles in the Basics section of the site are a good place to start, and/or the Meditation section if you want to focus more on Buddhist meditation. I do have an introductory e-book available too, if you are interested in that.

For me, I love Buddhism because it really does emphasize our life as our spiritual practice - that everything we observe and experience in our lives is part of our spiritual journey, and conversely that the spiritual truths we discover through meditation and other formal forms of practice inform every aspect of our lives.