Next Thread
Print Thread
B
Bifumus Offline OP
Amoeba
OP Offline
Amoeba
B
Hi, I am new to this forum. I recently applied for nursing school, and may be waiting a while before I am accepted due to the number of applicants. One concern I have that I have not had the spine to ask anyone is whether or not nurses get ill more often than the average bear.

I'm 41 and an avid runner, so right now I don't get sick often, but when I do, I have a hard time shaking it. The only aspect of nursing that scares me is the idea of being exposed to a lot more illnesses.

Are my fears unfounded, or is this just part of the deal?
THANKS! grin

Sponsored Post Advertisement
C
C
Hi Bifumus, I'm new here also so it is nice to meet ya! :) I'm a nurse and I don't get sick nearly as much as I should for all the unhealthy and sick people I attend to everyday. And yes I'm the same way though when I get sick. When I do get sick it takes about a month for me to get better! Don't worry, you sort of build up an immune system to it, just like parents do when they have sick kids, you will be fine. Good luck in nursing school!

BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
I have heard that when kids start school they get about 12 verified illnesses the first year. Then after that they are good because they have build up the immunities. Maybe this also happens to nurses...

Launa Stout
Kids Crafts/Books

R
R