logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
OP Offline
J
Hi! I need some guidance on making a career decision. I have been a massage therapist for 15 years. I am also an RN. I graduated from nursing school December, 2009 and got a job right away. So, for the last year, I have been doing nursing 3 days a week (with the occassional bonus shift) and massage therapy 1 day a week (occassionally two days a week to accomodate my clients). I am frustrated. I keep saying to myself "oh, in 3 months I'll give up massage", "oh, when I get my next nursing raise I'll quit massage", "when I pay off my car I'll quit" (done!), "when I pay off my credit card I'll quit" (done also!). Well, I keep giving myself deadlines, but I never come through. I enjoy doing massage and I love my clients, but I feel stretched too thin. Nursing is a 40 hour job crammed into 3 days. On the days I have massage clients, I don't want to do it. When I get there I am fine, but I feel burned out. My fears of giving up massage are: 1) I don't want to disappoint my clients; 2) it's an extra $500/month (pre-tax, over 4-5 days per month; 3) I like to see my clients and once I give up massage the reality is I won't see many of them again; 4) change is scary for me. My reasons for giving up massage are: 1) I feel like I'm never home and always working; 2) I can work 1 bonus shift per month at the hospital and can make the $500 I make doing 4-5 days of massage; 3) I feel like I'm neglecting my home, husband, pets because I'm gone so much' 4) I'm tired! So, I could really use some guidance in helping me make this decision. The reality is, I really want to give up massage, but I'm really scared to do so. Please help! Thanks!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Tiger
Tiger