logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#621910 08/29/10 12:37 PM
OP Offline
I was recently at a small gathering of women for tea and cookies. I know it sounds trite, but the mix of people at this gathering are from the pinky out tea drinker types, more like the swearing, dirty joke kind of tea drinkers. We vary in age, employment, and marital status. What makes me different from the rest of the women is that I am the only that has chosen not to breed. There are many reasons for this, not the least of which is, that I have been a preschool teacher for over 20 years and when I come home at night, I don't want to deal with the same drama that I have been dealing with all day at work. Back to the party.... there was one new woman within the mix, who didn't know any of us. While in conversation about (her children) she started to describe her in-tolerant neighbors. "You know the type, in their 50's have never had children, so they are completely in-tolerant of just about everything." Laughing and nods of acknowledgement ensued, while steam started coming out of my ears! Now usually if I know someone who makes a statement like this I will question it. This time I left it alone. Why? because I am not so sure if she is right or not. Obviously this has really bothered me, because now I preface everything with a snarky comment, "well you know, I am CF so I must be completely in-tolerant." Having worked with children so long, I usually don't even see or hear them in social settings, I don't mind it if children are around, they are cute and funny. I think what I am in-tolerant of is parenting styles. Maybe what I should have asked this woman is, "what do you allow your children to do that would make your neighbors be in-tolerant of your children? That got me thinking about my own neighbors and the children that live around me. I can say that I am in-tolerant of the children that live behind me. Not because they are children, not because I am 41 and CF, bu