logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#574314 12/31/09 11:42 AM
Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
I always (okay sometimes remember to) check the pattern for changes at the publishers site. What things do you always do? Or try to always do?

This week's article

Marge Colletta
Marge's Random Life
Knitting Guild of Santa Cruz
"I will not let the non-knitters of the world decide how normal I am"~Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Sponsored Post Advertisement
P
P
Marge, Hi, I am new to BellaOnline and have a knitting question. A friend has given me some very lightweight yarn (hand dyed wool) to make her a scarf. The edges are curling and I am not sure how to prevent this. Any suggestions? I am just doing a simple knit 6 rows, purl 6 rows pattern with size six needles. Thanks for you tips! :)Polly54

Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
When you knit one row, purl the next, you get a lovely flat fabric, but unfortunately it rolls, you can block it. Which is stretching it out and wetting or steaming it and pinning in place until it drys, but it will probably still roll.

To avoid this most hand made scarves are made with some kind of pattern on the edges.

Whoops re-reading your post, are you knitting every row for six rows? Then purling every row for six rows?

Marge Colletta
Marge's Random Life
"I will not let the non-knitters of the world decide how normal I am"~Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
P
P
I am purling then knitting the purling rows, then knitting both the knit rows (does this make sense?) Usually I am using heavier yarn (or even 2 colors) so don't normally have this problem! Would crocheting a narrow row down each side of the scarf help the problem?

Gecko
OP Offline
Gecko
I can't picture it, can you take a picture you can email it to me at mknitter "at" mac "dot" com if you would like...

Marge Colletta
Marge's Random Life
J
Koala
Koala
J
I think she just means she's alternating a knitted row and a purled row?