Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
T
Ive always wanted to be able to stop working and stay home with my dogs. That might sound kind of silly but I love spending time wiht them and training them. Id also love to do volunteer work with them, and maybe some other types of volunteer work. Currently Im a special education teacher of kids with severe disabilities and Im very good at my job and I like it. Still I hope when my husband makes more money I can leave it. Interestingly if we had human kids Id never even consider leaving my job since Id want to be able to pay for their college education and extracurricular activies, clothes, and so forth.

What can you do becasue you dont have kids

Sponsored Post Advertisement
I can take a 2 1/2 week vacation with my husband to South America!

I can make whatever gourmet treat I want for dinner, without having to think about *shudder* white sandwich bread or chicken mcnuggets!

I can take a bubble bath and spend all evening reading a good book!

Life is good!

N
NAW Offline
N
Good question. It is afterall the opportunity cost of having kids.

I get to travel! Pack up and leave whenever we want(work permits). I also get to pursue my studies.
I think the biggest thing for me is the freedom to do what I want whenever I want to. Money not spent on kids helps give this freedom.

Shark
Shark
i'm getting to make my dream of going back to grad school come true. since i got divorced, i've been saving and saving and saving money. i'm quite frugal, so i have been able to get completely out of debt since the divorce 2 years ago, and i have very few expenses. so any extra money i had, i put into savings. and my parents told me they wanted to pay for me to get my master's degree (wow, that was awesome), so i'm actually going to take some time from my job and go back to school full-time. i'm getting my degree in library science, so i'll be going to another job anyway.