Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#481472 01/03/09 06:20 PM
jms129 Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
On Christmas day, out of the blue, the front of my fishtank shattered into thousands of pieces, and 20 gallons of water, fish and gravel went pouring all over my coffee table, rug and my son's Christmas gifts. I was able to save 4 of the 9 fish in the tank. I currently have them in a 5 gallon acrylic Marineland hexagon tank. Does anyone have any idea what would have caused such a catastrophe? We were able to clean up as best we could, and I'm hoping that there will be no lasting problems with the carpeting.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
jms129 #481979 01/05/09 10:02 AM
E
E
That's scary, to say the least. I'm a newbie and only have 2 - 1 1/2 gal tanks, but I've never heard of tanks shattering before. Don't have any suggestions or knowledge to impart. Just wanted to offer you some sympathy and wish you luck on not having any lasting damage.

F
Amoeba
Amoeba
F
I have never heard of a tank just shattering like that before! I am so sorry! I've only heard of cases where the tank was repeatedly bumped or very very old having problems - and even then not completely shattering. Sorry you lost some of your babies. :-(

BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
Wow! I'm so sorry! How old was your fishtank? Was it new? Is it under warranty? Can you get your money back at the store? Maybe we need more information to help. If it was old or defective or had been under some stress like weight or temperature changes or being moved it could happen. Could you tell us more - was it really completely out of the blue? Are you the one who's been the owner of the tank since it was bought and are you the one who always changes the water and cleans it?

Mary Brennecke Fish Site
jms129 Offline OP
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
The shattering of the glass was totally unexpected, and not caused by anything hitting the tank. There were no signs of leaking at all.