Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#425020 06/10/08 12:09 AM
Zebra
OP Offline
Zebra
My car is almost 9 years old and I know I'll eventually need a new one. No time soon, but in a year or two. (I do plan on driving the wheels off & just bought new tires today, so. . .)

So, what cars get the best mileage? Anyone have a hybrid? And, what's the best mileage car for the price? (I'm sorta cheap.)

Sponsored Post Advertisement
D
D
Ive been wondering the same thing! Go cheap people! smile

A
Chimpanzee
Chimpanzee
A
Hybrids are not cheap and the dealers are not giving any breaks to sell them. They're being sold as they come off the delivery truck. I have a Toyota Hybrid. I'm still learning how to get the most out of it. Right now I am averaging about 33 miles to the gallon. The car gets good mileage on the open road. There is the Prius also. That's getting even better mileage.

My daughter and SIL have a Honda hybrid. They have loved their car since they got it two years ago. GM (I think it is GM who is putting out a hybrid also.

Should have mentioned that my other daughter has a 9-year old Civic and she figured she got 36 mpg. She has a standard shift though.

Also, I am told that if you substitute nitrogen for air in your tires you get better mileage also.

This impetus to drive vehicles with better fuel consumption is way over due, don't you think? Americans needed to do this 20 years or more ago.

Last edited by Angie; 06/28/08 06:02 PM.
M
Gecko
Gecko
M
Supposedly, late 2010, Chevy is coming out with a hybrid called the Volt -- and it will have a 40 mile range on just electric. Apparently, most people don't drive more than that a day (barring long trips), so locally, you will drive, and just plug it in at night for a recharge. Long distance, the gas runs a generator that keeps the battery going, but it is better on gas than most cars.

I believe another company (can't remember which) is also working on getting something like that out, too.

A