Print Thread
#419490 05/18/08 10:36 PM
N
nadaurz Offline OP
Shark
OP Offline
Shark
N
Is a third-year nursing student bound by the new privacy laws? I recently had a severe lung infection and was put on predisone. Due to the predisone, I had a GI bleed which was complicated by a bleeding disorder I have. After a few days in the hospital things were fine. The problem: when I returned to work everybody was gossiping about me having lung cancer because the shift manager, who is a third-year nursing student-about to start her last year, had said all it could be was lung cancer. This girl had no idea of my current or past history, but spoke as though she did. She diagnosed me without knowing anything, causing all kinds of rumors in a small community. As a manager, it was unprofessional, but as a nurse, I feel it is unexcuseable. What, if anything, can or should I do about it? I have within the past few years lost my dad and my aunt to lung cancer, so I may be just over-reacting, but I am very upset by this. All comments would be appreciated. My company basically said get over it.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
nadaurz #419498 05/18/08 10:59 PM
Elephant
Elephant
if they are working in a professional setting they are bound by HIPPA! She should be censured and possibly even fired for this. She could also not get her licensure if the state board found out about this lapse in judegment and the severity.

As an EMT student (before I was even licensed) I was bound by the privacy rules. If I violated them, I could forfeit my right to a license.

J. Ruel - Gay Lesbian News Editor

Check out the latest article on the Gay Lesbian SITE or Join us in the FORUM

Questions? Comments? Story Ideas? SUBMIT THEM HERE

Former Editor of the HIV/AIDS, HAIR, HISPANIC CULTURE, and GAY LESBIAN RELATIONSHIPS sites here on BellaOnline!
Lady J #419502 05/18/08 11:04 PM
N
nadaurz Offline OP
Shark
OP Offline
Shark
N