Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
BellaOnline Editor
Chimpanzee
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Chimpanzee
Thankfully none of this has been out loud, but the attitude is still there...

I recently found out that a guy I graduated from HS with just got the position of HS principal at the school we graduated from - with his doctorate's no less.

Now this is a man I had never even thought would be interested in academics - he always took the vo-tech prep classes, and was voted as one of our "Knights of Technology" (We Knights of Technology, Academics, Arts, and Sports). DOn't get me wrong, he was not a dumb kid by any means - but he wasn't up there in the top 25% of our graduating class either, mostly because I don't think he had the interest to be. He was a very nice, if quiet guy; and had he not been just absolutely gorgeous, probably would have flown under everybody's radar, 'cause he kind of kept to himself.

Now, like I said, his grades were not always that great, so for him to go on and get his masters and doctorates - he put a major amount of work into doing this. And it is a great accomplishment, and honor for him to be chosen to some back and represent our alma mater.

So I should just be really proud, right?

Instead I am horribly jealous, and keep going "how come him and not me?" I mean I graduated 5th in class. I pulled the grades, I got the fantastic scholarships, I've got the brains - and I have literally nothing to show for my life. I substitute - sometimes. I have an Associate's Degree in a field that I can't even take advantage of, because I didn't take the national accreditation, because I (naively) thought I didn't need to spend the money, because I would always be with that husband in that state. I never even wanted to work in that field - it just made more sense at the time.

I should be proud of him, but instead feel "cheated" and am feeling sorry for myslef. How [censored] is that?

Michelle Taylor
Marriage Editor