Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#332451 08/02/07 12:05 PM
N
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
N
BellaOnline ALERT: Raw URLs are not allowed in these forums for security reasons. Please use UBB code. If you don't know how to do UBB code just post here for help - we will help out!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
I would just mumble......

"Things are not what they seem.... Nor are they otherwise...." (Lankavatara Sutta)

"The purpose of Life is simply, to be happy, and to make others happy." HH the Dalai Lama.

MettaMaid #332470 08/02/07 03:59 PM
Parakeet
Parakeet
When I was in Virgina Public schools until I graduated HS in 1985, we had to say the pledge. However, as far back as I can remember, I NEVER said it. I just stayed silent, or I just mumbled the entire thing. It was my own form of rebellion.

Since then, however, the pledge has been replaced by a moment of silence. I work for the exact same school system where I was educated, so I have direct experience with this when I occasionally visit the schools first thing in the mornings.

I've never liked being a sheeple.

Last edited by Duane_Va; 08/02/07 04:00 PM.
M
Gecko
Gecko
M
My father tells of when HE was young -- there was no "under God" in the pledge, and, justly (imo) feels that it should return to that.

We are fortunate to be out of the whole thing, since we homeschool part-time, and the part of the time my ds goes to school, they don't say the pledge. Just math and science, thank you very much.

Ms A #332589 08/03/07 07:57 AM
Parakeet
Parakeet
My father tells of when HE was young -- there was no "under God" in the pledge, and, justly (imo) feels that it should return to that.

That was added sometime in the 1950s as I recall, as a reaction to the "Red Commie Scare" of the time, so yes, I can believe that.

Chipmunk
Chipmunk