logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#266239 09/01/06 08:26 PM
Chipmunk
OP Offline
Chipmunk
I didnt realize that this wasn't common knowledge until this week when I was swamped with emails. I apologize for not sharing the info when I first read about it earlier this year.

Anyhow...

ebay is banning the sale of teacher guides, including those included in homeschool programs.

I heard the HSLDA is making an auction site for HSLDA members only. I'm certainly not paying $100 and lying on my application about my faith just to use their auctions.

I use vegsource.com/homeschool to sell now, and it saves me money since there are no fees.

What does everyone else plan on using to sell? Have you decided to boycott ebay or will you still buy and sell? What do you feel about the policy?

meg

Meg
The World is Our Classroom!
Homeschooling

Exotic Pets
Sponsored Post Advertisement
#266240 09/01/06 09:09 PM
Shark
Shark
I'm relatively new to this whole thing, but I'm surprised they were able to sell them in the first place. I bought books directly from Holt Publishing and I had to answer a few questions before they would sell them to me. One publisher had far too much rigormarole for me to bother with so I can see the point in having other resources to buy/sell from.

I try not to generalize or make sweeping statements, but ... kids today have alot of access to credit cards/money and the ability to "find" anything (including teacher editions of their current textbooks). I can see why the policy is beneficial for them.

Hard call - what's good for them makes life a bit more painful for us.

Denise Lacazette
Exotic Pets Editor
#266241 09/01/06 09:40 PM
Amoeba
Amoeba