logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#235576 03/06/06 01:03 PM
J
OP Offline
J
I'm just learning to spin (teaching myself, basically, although I've read my "Hands on Spinning" by Lee Raven so often it's dogeared!) and have a question about how you know you have too much twist. I'm working with alpaca, making a fairly fine strand of yarn using a worsted technique. My yarn seems to be pretty uniform (no fat lumps or skinny thinny spots). However, I notice that if I release the tension at all, the twist springs back, making little twisties.:o Am I putting too much twist in the yarn? According to Raven's book, thinner yarns need more twist than bulky yarns, so I've been trying to make sure that there's enough twist to hold it together. The yarn seems fine when I tug it to test it, but I'm wondering whether the skein will end up with twisties after the twist is set, and if so, what I can do to smooth them out. Thanks!!

Judith Korff
LadySong Farm Alpacas, Fleece & Flowers
Steamburg, NY 14783
www.alpacanation.com/ladysong.asp
Sponsored Post Advertisement
#235577 03/07/06 07:25 AM
Amoeba
Amoeba
Try washing a small skein and hanging it to dry without any weight other than the water it has it in. If the skein dries without twisting back up, then you are fine. It's hard to say through a forum without being able to see the yarn, so I'd definately test some. Alpaca is quite different from wool and lacks the type of crimp that wool has to hold it together, so more twist is needed for your finer yarn especially. That said, you don't want too much twist or the yarn starts to feel harsh. Very over twisted yarn, of any type, becomes twine to the hands.

Twin Willows Farm
Registered Border Leicester Sheep
Ossineke, Michigan
#235578 03/12/06 03:23 PM
M
M