Next Thread
Print Thread
#142690 10/08/04 12:22 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Zebra
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Zebra
Take a look at the headline for my local paper...

8-year-old gets four-day suspension
http://sentinelandenterprise.com/

If I were that teacher (I used to be a high school teacher) I would have had the girl give me the item & would have called the parents in for a conference and would have discussed what is & is not acceptable to bring to school & would have ended it there. The little girl in question - according to the article has no previous discipline problems at the school.

This is the school where my daughter went through 2nd grade. I pulled her out & started homeschooling her. She cried every night before school - she didn't want to go, she was afraid of being sent to that principal's office if her homework wasn't done. Her teacher wouldn't let her go to the bathroom - consequently she came home with wet pants. I called the prinicpal and told him that my daughter had been potty trained since age 2 1/2 and not letting my child go to the bathroom for over 6 hours was abuse. I let him know I was giving him the courtesy of a phone call to give him a chance to fix the situation before I called the Department of Social Services and filed abuse charges. Lord knows the school never would have called me first if they suspected I wasn't allowing my daughter go to the bathroom for that amount of time - they would have simply filed charges.

Anyway, I could go on & on. I'm going to also post this in the homeschooling forum & school reform. I'm also considering contacting the paper...

Sponsored Post Advertisement
#142691 10/09/04 06:17 PM
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
I send out a weekly (ok, sometimes bimonthly and sometimes monthly) email containing education "stories" from around North America.

It is amazing the stories of silly discipline!!

If anyone wants on my list, drop me a line at megisboss@att.net and I will add you to my mailing list.

Meg

Meg