logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 6 13 14
Amoeba
Amoeba
Im a 53 year old Vietnam veteran ( never had veterans day off ) who married a polish woman who came here in 1979. She was 19 i was 27 ( hey! whats wrong with marrying a younger woman ? ) Two kids 18 and 20. I'm a manufacturing inspector and my wife is a accountant ( An account without one day of college ). Were from Albany NY. Right now its colder than hell here. I'm a third generation Pole on my mothers side. A fourth generation Pole on my fathers side. I have no idea where my name "Mason General came form. Off the top of my head i guess.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
E
Koala
Koala
E
Jaga -

Belarussian and Ukrainian are even more phonetically written than Russian.

With English, the problem is that we are still using 500 year old German spelling rules, and yet the pronunciation of the language has become more Romance-related over time. This is why we have confusing things, such as the "-ough" ending (many different pronunciations), the silent "K" on "knee" and "knight", and we say "lite" for "light", and so on. It's horrible!

Parakeet
Parakeet
Hussar,

It seems we come from the same location. I am a second generation Pole who also come from New Britain, CT. Born and raised there.

I was a member of Sacred Heart church and attended the catholic school there. We were taught two languages, Polish and English. Also two religions, the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Back then there was New Britain High School only. It was down in the south end of town and currently is a elderly living home of some sorts.

Every so often I drive down there to stock up on some good Polish food. We come back with bread from the Waterbury Bakery and Kielbasa from Martin Rossol on Grove St.