BellaOnline
Posted By: BellaDeb Share your Tofu recipes - 06/25/08 12:01 AM
I've eaten some tofu before but am trying to eat more since I am really quite burned out on meat but still need protein.

So, how do you guys use tofu? And, do you have any good, pretty quick tofu recipes?

Posted By: GamerGrrl Re: Share your Tofu recipes - 06/25/08 06:54 AM
Oh! Oh!

I use tofu in my wraps that I eat for lunch! I get the medium-soft? or whatever it is that you use to cube for salads (I'm quite new to tofu). I just cut two slices like you do with SPAM and then fry them quickly after I've fried up two eggs. So, my wrap recipe is like this:

1 whole wheat/multi-grain tortilla
2 eggs, sunny-side up, steamed (so, there's a pink film over the eggs)
1tsp Horseradish spread on the tortilla
13 or so drops of Tapitio
2 slices of tofu
Spinach
Cheese (optional)

Put the horseradish on the tortilla followed by the tapitio, then a small handful of spinach, then the tofu, then the eggs, then cheese. And wrap! Healthy and delicious!
Posted By: BellaDeb Re: Share your Tofu recipes - 06/25/08 03:45 PM
Thanks, Kryssie! What the heck is tapitio? I love horseradish so this sounds great. Although I'd probably over medium the eggs!
Posted By: GamerGrrl Re: Share your Tofu recipes - 06/25/08 07:35 PM
Tapitio is a mild hot sauce. We get the ginormous bottle because my husband really likes the stuff. The 12 or so drops I use melt my mouth, so it's good enough for me! And, I just realized I misspelled it...go me! It's Tapatio. :-)
Posted By: Lisa LowCarb Re: Share your Tofu recipes - 06/27/08 12:54 AM
If you're thinking about iron, here are some comparisons!

Sesame seeds (3.5oz) - 10mg
Cashew nuts (3.5oz) - 6.2mg
Almonds (3.5oz) - 3mg
Watercress (3.5oz) - 2.2mg
Lean beef (3.5oz) - 2.5mg
Hard boiled egg (1) - 1.1mg
Posted By: Lisa LowCarb Re: Share your Tofu recipes - 06/27/08 03:09 AM
Deb - I have Dannon Light & Fit yogurt, it's only 3g carbs per serving. It has 5g of protein per serving too.