Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#763976 05/22/12 10:55 AM
A
aneate Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hello! I am new to this site so forgive me if I've posted this where I shouldn't. I am fairly new to knitting. I have several projects under my belt and I have decided to move to something more complicated (at least for me) I am making a beanie hat. I am confused on the pattern and decreasing. I completed one but it just doesn't look correct. Before going any further I need some clarification. Here are the instructions: CO 113sts Garter rib stitch: Row 1 (RS) *K2; p1; rep from *, end k2 Row 2 Purl After hat measures 5 3/4" from beg end with WS Next Row (RS) Work in patt over next 12 sts, pm [work in patt over next 22 sts, pm] 4 times, work in patt over next 13 sts Next Row Purl ** I am very clear to this point ** Shape Crown Row 1 (RS) [work in patt to 2 sts before market, k2tog,sm,ssk] 5 times, patt to end - 103 sts Row 2 Purl Rep rows 1 and 2 - 23 sts after row 18 Here's where my confusion is.....how does k2tog and ssk work when I am knitting in pattern? Do I work in pattern until the decreases and continue where I left off, or do I start the pattern over after the decreases? This all sounds confusing to me and I'm not sure I'm explaining it correctly. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Gecko
Gecko
Hi,
I think you start the pattern where it fits, i.e. so it looks like you are just continuing up. So if the pattern is K2, P2, and you just K2, then P2tog, the next stitch would be k2, then p2. kkppkkppkkpkkppkkpp

At least that is what I think, anyone else do it differently?

Can you put the directions for the pattern stitch in the next post?

Marge Colletta
Marge's Random Life
Knitting Guild of Santa Cruz
"I will not let the non-knitters of the world decide how normal I am"~Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
A
aneate Offline OP
OP Offline
A