Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#635107 10/06/10 03:41 AM
R
Chipmunk
OP Offline
Chipmunk
R
Are there editing services out there to hep student's with their papers? My husband teaches online and most of the papers he gets are hideous. I submitted mine and a few things slipped through both of us that hurt me on the grading.If there is not, maybe that is a niche that needs to be filled out there.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Gecko
Gecko
Believe it or not, I used to be an editor (yikes). It's so much easier to tell someone else they're wrong LOL.

Have you tried reading from the bottom to the top? That's always been a trick of editors to find typos and noun/verb issues. Also, read it out loud word-for-word and try not to say what you "think" is there but what is actually on the page.

R
Chipmunk
OP Offline
Chipmunk
R
There were few typos or grammar issues. He said that my ideas didn't flow. My husband was shocked. He felt that it was great. Teacher did not.

Gecko
Gecko
I just got my last paper back, he said there were typos there too, there weren't. I just re-checked it LOL.

I wonder if some instructors don't understand what "typo" means?

R
Chipmunk
OP Offline
Chipmunk
R
I don't feel so bad then smile

I think they copy responses and don't really read them at times. Maybe we should have an editing support group here.

E
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
E
Lol - this is really serendipitous for me. I am in the process of setting up a website to edit writing that other people want to have checked before submitting to instructors, or websites or applying for jobs etc. Not set up yet though and not sure when I will have it up. But at least I know now that there is probably a need for such a service.

However, I think it is a good idea to set up an editing support group here. I would be willing to edit some papers occasionally and maybe some others would be willing to as well in return for theirs being edited.