Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#290516 02/02/07 09:25 PM
Craig58 Offline OP
Parakeet
OP Offline
Parakeet
Is anyone working on a screenplay? I have been working on one for two years. It is based on a true story. I am getting close to completing the first full draft, but it gets harder as I get closer to the end.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Craig58 #290518 02/02/07 10:03 PM
I tried adapting my first novel, TRUE BLUE FOREVER, into a screenplay, but I couldn't fit a 113,000-word novel into a 120-page screenplay. How can I cut that much out when every part is crucial to me? I'll just wait for Ron Howard to hire someone to adapt it so his daughter can play the lead. :-)

Last edited by JoyceScarbrough; 02/02/07 10:04 PM.

~Joyce Scarbrough
BellaOnline ALERT: Raw URLs are not allowed in these forums for security reasons. Please use UBB code. If you don't know how to do UBB code just post here for help - we will help out!
Craig58 Offline OP
Parakeet
OP Offline
Parakeet
My script is currently at 80 pages. My goal is to have 90 pages for my completed screenplay. I am so close,but still have lots of work to do.

Craig58 #290593 02/03/07 06:41 PM
E
Koala
Koala
E
Joyce, you need to look at the screen as a completely different medium. Summarise what your story is about, and then rewrite it for a visual medium rather than trying to adapt it. So you need to think about what elements of the story are the most important you need to get across, and how do you best present this in the time limit you have and visually.

I see so many adaptations where precious screen time is wasted on some of the irrelevant set ups in the beginning of the book because the screenwriter was too afraid to leave something out - then the second half of the movie rushes through a lot of important stuff because there is no longer time for it. You almost want to write the screenplay in the opposite direction - important stuff first, then filler if there is time for it.