logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#559143 10/26/09 03:39 PM
S
OP Offline
S
I am new to needle tatting and have a book and think I am following the directions correctly, but when I try to make a ring when I slide my work off the needle over the eye it just makes a bunch of little knots.:( What am I doing wrong? Please help me.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Gecko
Gecko
I don't needle tat myself (YET), but on one tatting site, these aree some recommended tutorial sites:
H H Tatting

InTatters Site
ToTusMel's Awesome Tatting tutorials

You Tube also has some good tutotials. There are several more that are listed on InTatters. Hope one of these are helpful to you.

Last edited by sara1955; 10/28/09 01:18 PM.
J
J
Hi, Try this. Hold the stitches that are on the needle fairly firmly with one hand(L?) while you're pulling the needle through them with the other (R?). Keep holding.... no peeking yet... Keep pulling the thread that's through the eye of the needle. Watch the loop of thread at the bottom as it gets smaller. When its about an inch from disappearing, put the needle through this loop. Now resume pulling the thread, carefully, until the loop disappears. Voila! A Ring appears! Now for the good news. The bunch of little knots is called a chain, and appears every time you forget to put the needle through the loop. So, you've just learned the Ring and Chain techniques.Yeah!

T
Amoeba
Amoeba
T
Judy, thanks for answering the question. I'm sure this is what scarletsmiles was missing. I generally put the needle in that ring IMMEDIATELY after I pull the stitches off of it (otherwise, I'll probably forget to do so). Can't tell you how many times I've done that.