Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
specil Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hi everyone, it's been really great read what you have written and to know there are people who feel like me somewhere out there. I'm 25 and I've always known that I won't have kids, I'm just not interested in babies and toddlers and quite frankly seeing pregnant women and their results disturbs me. I just dont understand how both men and women turn into cooing messes when a baby is around. No, i dont want to hold it, talk to it, or see what new toy it has, but people seem to think im strange for not wanting to. ..Like it's some 'natural' feeling im supposed to have, especially as a woman. I've never been forced to be around babies before but recently at work (I'm a teacher at an International Language School) some of the new mother staff have been bringing their babies in to the staffroom. Usually when this happens everyone rushes over to melt and coo and 'cluck' over the 'bundle of joy'. but not me... i edge away like the room is contaminated...go about my business at my desk and try to block out the ridiculous sounds of my coworkers babbling nonsense. It's not like it's a just a random pop-in visit, one mother brings her baby in EVERYWEEK...uurgh it just not what i want to see at 8.20am, it's hard enough to wake up early let alone be confronted with this scene. Anyway, I'm not sure if this topic has already been brought up but I just wanted to let out my frustration a little as everyone else at my work seems to think I'm weird, and I feel alienated when the baby is there..i just dont know what to do...really its hard for me to even look at it without feeling a kind of horror. I'm really bad at faking interest too, especially when it goes strongly against my principles. I'm sick of being told "you'll have one someday!" , "its different when it's yours" etc etc. I swear, I NEVER played with baby dolls and other 'girly stuff' when i was a kid (G.I joes and lego, thanks) and I'm