logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#150508 11/13/04 07:41 PM
Bonna Offline OP
OP Offline
I want to know about the spiritual side of life. I am a student of politics. The world i live in disgusts me. I would like to find out how i can explore my spiritual side. Is paganism the right way to live? Were the dark ages not really dark? Are we as a race, on the verge of extinction. Is postmodernism destroying us? Are neo-pagans just a phoney postmodern fraternity? I am confused, i have a need for some honesty. Thankyou.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
#150509 11/13/04 11:49 PM
Elephant
Elephant
Bonna,

You can read the articles here and decide for yourself. Proselytizing, trying to convert someone else to your faith, is not a part of paganism.

Pagans try to cultivate a respect for all forms of life. Wicca, one of the major pagan religions, maintains the Law of Three as one of the major tenents: the belief that whatever energy you put out into the world will return to you threefold.

Neo-paganism tends to refer to spiritual practices that are not an exact decendant of a specific practice. I identify as a neo-pagan in that I am an eclectic, one who practices their faith in a solitary fashion as opposed to as part of a formal group.

In exploring your spiritual side, you have to decide what you are seeking. When I was in college, I felt that the spirituality that I had been raised with didn't feel like the person I was inside. I too have felt conflict with the outside world and its beliefs in my life. I read a lot, as I didn't like how many spiritualities tried to "grab" you and make you one of theirs if you went speak to someone. I thought about what was important to me, and read about various faiths until I found descriptions of beliefs that matched my own feelings.

Can you be more specific about this concept of "honesty" that you are seeking?

#150510 11/15/04 07:54 PM
Bonna Offline OP
OP Offline