BellaOnline
Posted By: Angela J. Shirley Alternative Medicine Career? - 11/23/10 11:56 PM
easterI have an interest in possibily getting into this type of career.

Anyone has any feedback on this career?

Thank you,
Posted By: Deanna - New Age Re: Alternative Medicine Career? - 11/24/10 12:37 AM
I worked as a holistic healer for 15 years.

I have certificates and training in:

Massage Therapy
Homeopathy
Hypnotherapy
Flower Essences

I LOVED it. Basically I retired from massage therapy because it was starting to take it's toll on my hands, and I was getting busier with my public speaking and freelance writing.

The other stuff I was never busy enough at to support myself doing just one of them, but they were sure fantastic to combine.

It's really fun working with people, and I loved being able to help others.

What branch of alternative healing do you want to get into?
Posted By: Angela J. Shirley Re: Alternative Medicine Career? - 11/24/10 01:00 AM
Hi Deanna:

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

I was looking into the "hands off" route (lol).

And yes, I have heard about the "hands" being a problem with massagers.
If I had my life to do over I would go to naturopathic post graduate shcool like they have in Phoenix, Seattle or Portland. They didn't have those schools when I was starting out. When you graduate you are a Naturopathic Medical Doctor and can work legally though license in 13 states.

You can make a good living with that degree and really help people. It gives you lots of options on how complex you want to get in your profession. The sky is the limit
Posted By: Angela J. Shirley Re: Alternative Medicine Career? - 12/01/10 11:03 PM
Hi Arrow, wow, you have alot to offer - thank you smile
Posted By: StacyPhD Re: Alternative Medicine Career? - 12/28/10 06:28 PM