BellaOnline
Last year there was a National Observe the Moon Night in the USA. This year it's going international.

September 18 is a Saturday night, so why not have a get-together with friends? If bad weather means you miss the Moon, at least you can have a good party! If anyone has a telescope, that's great, but probably you have binoculars�or could borrow some. (It's what I use.)

Or maybe there's an organized event going on near you. Map of International Observe the Moon events

I'll also be posting an Absolute Beginners article on observing the moon, as well as other useful material in the coming days.

NOTE: This event took place on September 18, 2010. If you follow the thread, you'll see that I've added a short report on some of the events that took place. But remember you don't need a special night to observe the Moon.
Here's what the Moon will look like on September 18th. You will need an Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to see it.

The Moon on September 18, 2010

My latest article is Absolute Beginners - Moonwatching. Using the above map you'll see that the craters Copernicus and Tycho should be visible. Can you remember where Apollo 11 landed? It will also visible on Saturday night.
Lots of people will be watching the Moon around the world. Some will be photographing it. But in Ireland Deirdre Kelleghan will be drawing it. Here's a sketch she did of the full moon.

Sketch of full Moon by Deirdre Kelleghan

If you are artistic, you might like to try sketching the Moon. Here is Deirdre's Lunar Drawing Tutorial. And don't get discouraged if your drawings don't look like this--remember Deirdre is an experienced amateur astronomer, as well as an artist.
The Sydney Observatory in Australian says Deirdre Kellaghan's Moon drawing is upside down! I guess so are the others I've recommended to you.

For those of you in the southern hemisphere - who probably feel you're left out (sorry!) - here is what the Moon should look like on September 18th where you are.