Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
Have you tried growing your own vegetables to save money? No matter whether you have a green thumb or no experience there are many ways to grow your own vegetables. Not only will you save money, but you will have control over how your food is grown.

Grow Vegetables to Save Money

Sandra Baublitz, Investing/Home Finance Editor
Investing Website
Home Finance Website
Sandra Baublitz Author Webpage

Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
Gardening is an activity that I have had a lot of experience with doing. I grew up with a garden since my mom raised a good portion of our vegetables and some fruits. The main purpose of the garden was to raise food while saving on the grocery bill. She canned, preserved, and froze lots of our food to eat through the winter. Potatoes were, and still are, one of our staple foods that we grow and keep through the entire winter to eat.

Not only did we garden, but for many years my mom and I raised and sold produce at our local farmer's market. So I have been on both sides of the table - small farmer/gardener and purchaser.

Even a small space in which to garden can yield a lot of veggies and a lot of savings.

Do you garden? Have you frozen or canned your bountiful harvest? Post here with your experiences and thoughts.

Investing Website
Home Finance Website

BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
BellaOnline Editor
Chipmunk
My neighbors did this back when I was a kid with the growing, canning, preserving, and everything. They saved a LOT of money. I always admired them for it. My parents sort of tried to grow vegetables, but not seriously. I wish that I could have picked up those skills from the neighbors. It looked very labor-intensives because they were always out there watering and weeding, but it also looked worth it.

Ro Longstreet
* Wicca site and forum.
* Fun BellaOnline forum games here.