#640245 11/04/10 10:46 AM
L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
A while back, before the current economy crunch, there was talk about establishing state-mandated preschool. It would provide free and regulated (paid by tax dollars) preschool for all children. However, it would pretty much force a lot of private preschools to close.

What are your thoughts about this?

Also, I MISS my kids' preschool years!!! I even thought about running my own in-home preschool. I have a master's in education and a valid teacher's credential (I also homeschooled during some crucial periods in my kids' academic lives) but would need to return for more early childhood units. At this point, I'll just wait for grandkids. If they ever get here!

Sponsored Post Advertisement
A
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
A
Hi Lori!

Thanks for your input- I am in Florida and we have a "VPK" program that fills up quickly. What state/country are you in?
Before I began homeschooling my son attended a Montessori school for Pre-K and K.

AlissaMoy
BellaOnline
L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
I'm in California where education is facing a lot of challenges, especially with budget problems.

A
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
A
How is the preschool situation in California?

AlissaMoy
BellaOnline
L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
There are many privately run preschools now in addition to the Head Start Program (preschool) for low-income families. Lots of people run daycare programs out of their homes, too.

The wealthier families can afford Montessori schools and such but the poorer families have to turn to simple babysitting from neighbors and relatives.

There are no mandated standards as yet for pre-school unless it is a kindergarten readiness program. A lot of the curriculum once was developmentally based but now there is a push for academic readiness!

A
Chipmunk
Chipmunk
A
Thanks for your input Lori! Happy Thanksgiving!

AlissaMoy
BellaOnline