logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#621627 08/28/10 06:15 AM
S
OP Offline
S
Hello everyone - I am new to spinning - I have spun some merino fleece and plied it into about a 4ply yarn - took me absolutely ages.

I don't know what to do with it now - Do I just knit with it - or do I have to put it into boiling water -? I have read loads of books and all that has happened is I am more confused than when I started - there seems to be some many things your supposed to do with it before you can knit it - Can someone help me with this please as I have 500grams and am itching to make something.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
N
N
I bet it did take you absolutely ages to make a 4 ply!! Great job!!! Now all newly spun yarn should be 'finished'. That is to say the natural skin oils and dirt from spinning should be washed off of the skein. Ties your skein in 3-4 places with a figure eight tie so that the skein stays manageable in a skein form while you wash it. Then with mild dish washing soap and warm water, a sink or bucket, I soak my skeins for about an 1 hour more or less, then I squeeze (don't wring) the water from the skein.

I then take the skein outside and wuzz it. This gets even more water out of the skein. I then let the skein drip dry.

Either on the clothes line of in the shower. You can also lay the skein on a sweater dryer to drip dry. Of course the more water you get out initially the faster the skein will dry.