Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#581054 01/27/10 11:03 PM
P
Pix Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I am new to BellaOnline, so happy I found it. I posted my first thread under NO KIDS regarding me being confused about having children or not. My sister (40) got a baby a few months ago and I went to help her with the baby. Sometimes when I held the baby I had a feeling of complete fulfillment. Ever since then, I started to think about having children at the age of 45!!(I am aware of all the negative things that can happen etc because that is all I hear when I tell my friends that I think about it) I know all the reasons (and valued that) for not having kids. I spoke to a therapist and was told that a lot of menopausal women (don't think I am there yet) feel they missed out on something in life and want children when it it "too" late. I am so confused!!I really would like to hear your thoughts on this and also about why you have children. I l'll never be this rude in real life, asking you why you have children, and hope you realize that I am just seeking advice.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
D
Dez Offline
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
D
I can't imagine anyone's answer being the same to this question, lol.

For me, it was a desire that I had but waited awhile. I was 28 when my first child was born, and 4 years before my second. So obviously I'm not someone who rushed into it. I've always loved kids; I did a lot of babysitting as a teenager, taking care of my nephews, etc.

Why did I have kids? I've always wanted kids, it was just a matter of when. I wanted to have kids when I was content with having done the things I felt like doing for myself, when I was ready to put myself aside a bit for someone else.