Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#530619 06/20/09 03:37 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Hi Everyone, I am a beginner. I've just started knitting because of the encouragment of a friend. It brought back memories of my grandmother when she tried to teach me. That was 40 years ago. I still remember somethings but I never really stuck with it. Now my mom is knitting and I want to share things with her. I've been watching videos on line (pictures or explanations in books just don't do it for me. I started a scarf to teach myself the purl stich. I'm knitting a row and purling a row. It really looks great except for the curl. The whole thing is curling. Now, I guess I could start a new trend but I'm not sure it will catch on. Will the curl go away if I block it? Is there anything I can do to it? Perhaps I should just enjoy the curl. It's a very soft yarn (angora) with a gold thread that runs in it. The skein was only $.99 so it wasn't a lot of money. It has taken a lot of time. I want to try another scarf next with 5 stiches knit stitch and 5 stiches purl. I hope that won't curl. Will it? Any advice. :) New Sue

Sponsored Post Advertisement
SimplySue #530713 06/21/09 01:42 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
Hey Sue, I'm a newbie too. Just like you, I picked it up again after about 30 years and have thoroughly enjoyed it so far.

Marge can provide great advice and has some wonderful tips and illustrations in her forum articles. They have really helped me.

The knit 5 purl 5 is a stitch I've used in dishcloths with great success. I've always began and ended each row with knit, which makes a border, so the piece doesn't curl. You may not want a border in a scarf though.

Check the blocking article, I think the answer might be there.
Good luck.

Jane Winkler, Editor
Native American Site
NativeAmericanForum
Avatar: Feather Dance Bustle - Men's Regalia
SimplySue #530715 06/21/09 02:42 PM
L
Gecko
Gecko
L
SimplySue,