logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#195497 06/09/05 02:59 PM
V
OP Offline
V
Hello, all! I am a newbie in more than one sense! New to the boards and new to Orchids!! I was always afraid to buy one. I mean, I can't see spending $25 on a flower that I may or may not be able to take care of. Well, I finally broke down and bought my first (A beautiful Phalanopsis) from Lowe's on clearance. I've since bought 6 more, have pollinated two (which I am patiently waiting for them to be ready to send to a flasking service), and am on the verge of ordering a flask of seedlings already ready for community pots! My problem is, I have set my babies outside under a tree a few times to get them out of the Air Conditioning and into the humidity (I'm in Louisville, KY and it's been hot and humid for over a week!). They seemed fine with that, but the other day I wanted to put them outside while I was gone to work, so I put them on the back porch instead. Apparently, this was pretty stupid, I think they got too much sun. Now some of the leaves are wilty and I'm quite worried. Any suggestions?? Thanx!

Angi
Sponsored Post Advertisement
Koala
Koala
I keep my orchids on top of a container of gravel that always has water in it. That should help with the humidity. My orchids are in clay pots. I purchased the biggest plant saucer I could find for this.

Hopefully someone else will be able to give you some advise on the wilt.

Connie

Don't be afraid that your life will end, be afraid that it will never begin.
~anonymous~
S
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
S
From one orchid you've moved forward very fast indeed!! You've been bitten by the "Orchid Bug". I would hesitate to move your orchids in and out all the time since this stresses them. If you want to put them outside for the summer and leave them there, that would be fine. But putting them in theheat and humidity and then moving them into the cooler air conditioned and dry air is probably not good for them.