logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#150771 09/22/04 04:26 PM
OP Offline
Hi writers/readers

Is there anybody here who has written/published a novel and for some reason has troubles writing a second one?
That's the case with me. I published my first novel in June, started writing a second novel, but for the life of me, I can't get into the story or the characters. I deeply involved with the characters in my first novel, you could say, I got up with them, and I went to bed with them, they became part of me and my life.
That is not the case with the second book.
Can anybody offer me some advice?

Conny Manero
author of
Waiting for Silverbird
Sponsored Post Advertisement
#150772 09/23/04 01:32 PM
Zee Offline
Amoeba
Amoeba
Ah Conny, I'm afraid writers all suffer this sort of block from time to time. As a writer myself, I find the more I write, the more I publish, the louder and nastier my inner critic becomes. It's a lifelong battle of working for constant improvement, and while I wrote my first novel with joyous abandon (perhaps it was indeed a case of "ignorance is bliss"), my second is much slower in taking shape. I've come a long way since then, but so has that inner critic, forever whispering in my ear and cramping my style. Knowing what lies ahead while improving on what has been is not always easier.

Have you any local writers' groups you might join? I belong to several in my area, and my main purpose for participating is not the crits we share so much, as socializing with kindred spirits, networking, and simply the inspiration we get from each other. It's not a bad way to make oneself feel accountable, too, working to get the next few pages done, so that we have something to share during the next meeting.

What is your new novel about?

Zee

#150773 09/23/04 02:18 PM
Hi Conny,