logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline
I am a primary teacher of 3-4 year old Sunbeams and the lessons on families are coming up in a few weeks. There is a child in my class whose parents recently divorced. I am concerned about how to teach that families can be together forever and share the gratitude I have for my family situation without pouring salt on the wound for this child. Any suggestions?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Maybe that's because the things you're teaching do not necessarily reflect the way the things are in real life?

I'm curious as to what you would determine is real life. I would disagree with that statement. Because I do believe that what is being taught is real life. Families can be forever...divorced or not. I grew up in a divorced family and there are challenges that come from understanding how eternity can effect you. But what a strength those teachings were to me throughout my life, especially when I was struggling with my parents divorce.

As to the teacher looking for ways to teach those principles without offending that child. I think that it is a comfort to know that your family can be forever. Children in time will understand what happens here and mistakes that adults make. But it is always something that they can believe they can have for themselves. Unfortunately I am not a good teacher of primary, but I know that for me growing up it was a comfort and I am grateful for what my teacher taught me. I have always held to it. And today in my own life with a struggling marriage at times I hold on to the knowledge that I can have those things if I am willing to do what it takes. It gets me through many a difficult time.

Dear Shellie,

First of all, you are to be commended for being so sensitive with your Primary children and in considering their needs.

Second of all, families can be together forever. That is the reality for which we all strive.