On this day in 1975 - May 30th - nine countries signed the convention to establish the European Space Agency (ESA).

The convention came into force on 30 October 1980 with the deposit of the last instrument of ratification.

Mona Evans
For news, activities, pictures and more, sign up to the Astronomy Newsletter!