BellaOnline
Posted By: AKLisa- Knitting Editor 403b plans - 08/02/12 11:35 PM
Since I work in education I have the option of signing up for a 403(b) plan. This is like a 401K for public educators. Right now I am trying to get prospectus' and then I plan to make a spreadsheet comparing plans. Below is the list of what categories I will put on the spreadsheet. My questions is if anyone has any other suggestions as to what they would add?

_-average return rate
-yearly fees-
-penalties for early withdrawal, by program and IRS
-minimums to start and contribute
-plan type (annuity, money market, etc.)
-if I can choose to throw in extra money when I have it

Well, what would anyone else add? what other criteria did you use when selecting your plan for 401K, 403b, or similar program?
Posted By: Sandra Investing/HFinance Re: 403b plans - 08/05/12 07:57 PM
Lisa,

I think you have a good idea of what to look for in your plan options. I would stay away from annuities and go with mutual funds.

With the mutual funds, look for no-load funds and low fees if they are offered. Also, consider how the funds performance compares to similar funds and the benchmark index to which it is compared.

Keep us posted. I'd love to hear everyone else's thoughts on this issue as well.
Posted By: AKLisa- Knitting Editor Re: 403b plans - 08/05/12 09:05 PM
I don't really understand what an annuity is, but it keeps coming up that these are NOT good investment vehicles for these types of plans. Sadly, I think most of my coworkers have their 403(b) in annuities.
There is a guy who comes by our school from one of the companies allowed in the plan, so almost everyone has their 403(b) set up with him. I don't even think they looked at all their options. It's kinda scary, really.
When we got back to work I plan to ask my coworkers some questions very delicately about why they chose the plans they did.