logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#651897 12/27/10 11:04 AM
G
OP Offline
G
Should home/visiting teachers bring children with them? My home/visiting teachers are husband/wife. Every month, they come over with all their children, who are very young and they run screaming through our house for at least an hour. The messages usually last about 30 seconds and the rest of the time, we chase and talk about the children. It is very frustrating and I dread each visit. I am new to church and I don't know if this situation is the "norm." But I am getting very resentful about the whole thing. I work a lot and I do not have time to make for this ridiculous waste of time anymore. They are a very precious family but I do not enjoy the visits at all - they stress me out more than anything. Advice?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
Jellyfish
Jellyfish
Perhaps Sis. Bezas will respond with a more insightful answer but I can make a suggestion: Have a talk with your visiting teacher as well as the bishop. They would like to know how you feel because your home visits are important. And it's important to have a spiritual moment during these visits. They aren't merely social calls. Sometimes, these visits are the only spiritual moments people have during their entire months because either they are inactive or homebound.

As a new member, you are still vulnerable to so many things that could sideline your spiritual connection to the church. This is one of them. It's too easy to get both disillusioned, discouraged when you see longtime members make mistakes that shake your testimony.

If you talk to the bishop and your visiting teacher, they'll be understanding. But you must be honest! Others to confide in include the missionaries who still should be visiting you on occasion.