Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#419354 05/18/08 10:12 AM
Jellyfish
OP Offline
Jellyfish
Ladies (and gentlemen)

I have a situation I would like some input on. My whole life I have been average to skinny-sized, so I have very little experience with size discrimination, shopping issues, societal pressure, etc.

I have a stepdaughter who is well on her way to being plus-sized. She is 12, and weighs 40 lbs more than I do. What can I do to encourage and support her? I am very careful not to make weight/appearance comments (I limit them to "you have beautiful hair" or "I love your gorgeous eyes") and we emphasize the importance of cooking and eating healthy foods; not from a skinny standpoint, but from a healthy body standpoint. We also try to do fun active things with her, like hiking and rock-climbing.

She is very impressionable, and I do NOT want to contribute to her having image issues. While I would like to help her lose weight strictly for health reasons, (and she does want to) I have very little idea what is acceptable to say or do.

Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Chimpanzee
BellaOnline Editor
Chimpanzee
The best thing at her age is to make sure she is physically active, and eating healthily (but you already seem to have that part handled).

Her size is not as important as her health.

Find out what her interests are as far as physical activities go. At 12 she is still young anough to learn a wide variety of skills. She can take hip-hop classes, swimming, biking, cheerleading, karate, etc.

Just find out what interests her and let her go.

The other thing is at 12, she's going through major puberty changes - so some of the weight may come and go as her hormones change. It's almost impossible to tell what she's "finally" going to be like.

But if she gets into the habit of being healthy and active now, it will be a good habit for the rest of her life.