Next Thread
Print Thread
#602305 05/27/10 09:57 AM
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
Many people don't realize that self-esteem is something that can and should be worked on. If you would like information on building your self-esteem, check out my latest article Building Self-Esteem.

If you would like to discuss this topic, post to this threat or start your own. I can't wait to discuss college-related topics with all of you.

SUSAN D. BATES
COLLEGES

Connect with Colleges on Facebook at Colleges at BellaOnline.com

Follow Colleges on Twitter at colleges_info

Sponsored Post Advertisement
L
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
L
Without a healthy level of self-esteem, it is difficult to succeed in life. I know because even though I earned my bachelor's and master's and had several successful careers, I abruptly left them because I struggled with my self-worth. Somehow, I did not believe that I deserved the good fruits of my labor.

My daughter suffered from low self-esteem until a counselor explained that I never gave her a chance to succeed or fail. At any hint of a stumble, I would rush in to rescue her, giving her the impression that she was not capable of solving her own problems or earning achievements. We work on that and thankfully, she is a stronger person today.

As for other college-related topics, I'd like your thoughts about the importance of a college degree and the benefits that go beyond career advantages. I'm tired of hearing some people tell me that I "wasted" my education by leaving good careers to care for my family. What was I to do? Two of my children have/had a terminal illness, for heaven's sake.

BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko