logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
becki Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hi everyone, I am new to the low carb forum and I just want to get your views. I followed the "curves" low carb diet a number of years ago and it was very successful but there was a lot of negative media coverage about low carb diets and I gave it up. I have read that low carb diets can be bad for your kidneys and digestive system in particular the intestines because of the slow transit time if you are not eating enough wholegrain fibre as you would not be on a low carb diet and I need some reassurance in that regard because I am thinking abount going back on that way of eating becasue I find it great for control. I suppose my question is is it healthy to just eat tonnes of vegetables and lower sugar fruit?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
BellaOnline Editor
Actually that's a mistaken view. You should be eating MORE fiber on a low carb diet than most people eat. The point of low carb is to avoid sugar - not fiber smile

It's never healthy to just eat vegetables smile You have to eat a balanced meal, which includes things other than veggies smile

Lisa Shea, Low Carb and Video Games Editor
Low Carb Forum
J
Koala
Koala
J
I agree Lisa! Try following a Low Glycemic Diet , which is better for your blood sugar, your metabolism and your overall health.

The Glycemic Index basically weeds out "bad" carbs, or those high on the glycemic index, from "good" carbs, or those low on the index -which contain less sugar.

B
becki Offline OP
OP Offline
B
I hope that I did not come across as critical of low carb diets/lifestyle. I was just posing the question that if one cuts back on carbs can it have a bad effect on one's health.