logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#226067 01/11/06 08:16 PM
S
OP Offline
S
I'm just learning to spin and love it so much, but what are some small, easy projects for a beginner? I can crochet, am learning knitting, can weave, but need some ideas for small amounts of "beginner" woven wool. I'm working on some place mats, have done pot-holders, any ideas?

Sponsored Post Advertisement
#226068 01/12/06 07:01 AM
Amoeba
Amoeba
Do you have any of the little Weavette hand looms? The 4" square one makes very nice little 'mug rugs' for your coffee cups. If your yarn is on the finer side, just sew two together for a double thickness. The 2"x 4" makes great bookmarks too.

Otherwise, don't be afraid to save up some of this beginner yarn, especially if it's lumpy-bumpy stuff, until you're a more accomplished knitter. That's when you'll really appreciate it! Using slubby yarn in the yoke of a sweater, just above the cuffs, on a hat above the ribbing, etc. is fun and adds interest to the garment.

Do you scrapbook or make homemade greeting cards? If so, save some for those projects too. Handspun yarn works great for embellishments!

Twin Willows Farm
Registered Border Leicester Sheep
Ossineke, Michigan
#226069 01/12/06 05:59 PM
I would agree with Pegg -just use your new yarn on any project as embelishment. There appears to be a whole new wave of enthusiasm for yarn as art, with novelty spun yarns being sought after. There are many spinners who try their hardest to overspin, underspin, add bits of pieces etc which you do naturally as a beginner. I guess though as a beginner you want to get to the consistent stage before you purposefully try to do the novel. But start a larger project and spread these new yarns through it - a shawl? a bag? Combine commercial yarn with your new yarn. The ideas are endless. Would love to hear what you do come up with.

#226070 01/16/06 04:24 PM
A
A