Next Thread
Print Thread
#698324 06/27/11 01:42 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Koala
Last week I was in Charleston, SC for a dear friend's funeral. It was a sad time, but I got to meet a self-taught flint knapper. He had several points in his pocket and found two pieces of quartz in a pile of fill dirt at the house. In less than 5 minutes the bottom half of an arrowhead was roughed out. It was amazing and I came home with both pieces of quartz. He also knaps glass. I had no idea you could do that.

Driving home I thought about the flakes my new friend left behind. Would they be uncovered many years from now in that pile of fill dirt and their date misinterpreted as much earlier than the 21st century?

Now you know the basis behind this week's article. Some people have the "touch" and can easily learn this ancient skill. Here's a video featuring Johnny's work in stone and glass. He also makes lovely dreamcatchers. It's a little long, but the beautiful flute music was most relaxing after a long drive.

Knapped Glass - Johnny Reb

Last edited by Jane - Native American; 06/27/11 02:00 PM.

Jane Winkler, Editor
Native American Site
NativeAmericanForum
Avatar: Feather Dance Bustle - Men's Regalia
Sponsored Post Advertisement
Highest Posting Power Known to Humanity
Beautiful video, beautiful work. Thank you, Jane, for sharing this with us. I love your article, too.

Walk in Peace and Harmony.
Phyllis Doyle Burns
Avatar: Fair Helena by Rackham, Public Domain
C
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
C
Jane, I found it fascinating that the knappers used a softer material against the rock that is knapped. This was an interesting article.

Thanks for the link to the video. The music was sooooo soothing.

Connie Mistler Davidson-Editor-ADD/Sandwiches/Reading
Attention Deficit Disorder
Sandwiches
Reading
Avatar: Hope~Even when conditions are harsh, hope can bloom.

My EBook link.