Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#905029 12/31/15 02:16 PM
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
Here's something cool - and the whole family can do it - for 2016. Make this the year that you start looking at the night sky.

Absolute Beginners - Start Observing
You'd like to know the night sky better? But you haven't a got a telescope,live in a city, don't know any constellations or can't tell a star from a planet? Time to give up? Absolutely not. Time to read on and look up.

Last edited by Mona - Astronomy; 01/02/16 02:57 PM.
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
What's of special interest in January? Jane Houston Jones tells us What's up. And it looks like what's up is Jupiter and its moons.

Although it's easy enough to spot bright Jupiter in the sky, in order to see the moons you need binoculars, or of course, a telescope if you have one.

BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
The Quadrantid meteor shower is expected to peak on the night of January 3/4. If you catch it, the peak rate is very impressive. However, the maximum lasts just a few hours and you'll miss it if it doesn't fall between midnight and dawn in your part of the world.

The International Meteor Organization predicts a peak on Monday the 4th, centered on 3 a.m. Eastern Standard Time - and midnight on the west coast. So if they're right, this is good news for North Americans. However a different model predicts a peak 8 hours earlier, which would be great for Europe.

I guess we won't know until later in the day on Monday.

BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
From Space.com:
At dawn on Thursday, Dec. 31, the four brightest planets outline the ecliptic, the path followed by the sun and moon. The moon visits each in turn over the next week.