logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Chipmunk
OP Offline
Chipmunk
In 2014 I sold my mom's house, divided the money according to her will with my sister and her two girls.
Then I moved back to Oklahoma, a state I had moved away from in 1988 and had been thrilled to leave. <--- Mistake #1.
I got a house I loved, remodeled it and sold it. <----Mistake #2
I bought another house in Oklahoma. <--- Mistake #3
I'd been inspired by those flipping homes programs on tv. I'm a former real estate broker and thought I was so smart. I didn't figure in the emotional factor of living in a place where we had all lived with Mom in a large house and everyone was happy.
Several -- ok -- MANY times I've parked in the driveway and just stared at the house, thinking about former times and wishing. One time I approached the house on foot, got to the front door and had my hand on the doorknob when it suddenly opened and the woman that now owns the house actually invited me in!
I broke down in tears and told her it had been our family home and I had this stupid stupid fantasy that if I just went inside everything would go back to normal -- Mom would be there, so would my grandmother and of course my sister and her kids.
The owner was so kind. She told me I could come out there anytime I wanted or needed to. But the weird thing is, she has remodeled to the point that none of the rooms are the same -- not the size, shape, etc.
FAST FORWARD: 2016 ---- The house I bought, I want to sell and get the heck out of here. I have to admit that I really think I am dreaming about this in my sleep. I wake up feeling like I have been sobbing all night. And I have the kind of heartbroken feeling you have when you've been in a very deep relationship.
SO glad to get this all off my chest!!!!

Former Chocolate Editor. Also known as Daisybun.
Sponsored Post Advertisement
C
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
BellaOnline Editor
Gecko
C