Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
Clear January nights are a good time to start having a look at the sky. In this video Jane Houston Jones shows how four planets will, each in turn, be showing up near the Moon. That's a good way to find the planets, because we all know what the Moon looks like.

The page is from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, California and is pitched at North Americans. Other people will also be able to see the sky, but the timings will be different. I'll be putting up links to good guides for other places.

Last edited by Mona - Astronomy; 02/16/15 06:46 AM.
Sponsored Post Advertisement
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
Get some ideas about what you might see in the winter sky.

Absolute Beginners - Winter Skies
Many bright stars sparkle in the sky on crisp winter evenings. Brightest of all is Sirius the Dog Star, the face of one of the two dogs of Orion the hunter. The belt of Orion himself is an easily-identified feature and the constellation also has both a red supergiant star and a blue one.

BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
Brian Ventudo, the One-Minute Astronomer, is a Canadian who writes about astronomy, and is an enthusiastic amateur astronomer. Click here to find out what's up in the sky this month, including helpful diagrams and pictures. Some of the events he mentions are at specific times, and he gives those in UTC. At this time of year that is the same as GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). GMT is five hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time and eight hours ahead of Pacific Standard Time.

Last edited by Mona - Astronomy; 01/03/15 03:15 AM.
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Renaissance Human