logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#859467 03/16/14 06:22 AM
C
OP Offline
C
Hi everyone, I am new to crocheting and I have just started crocheting a baby blanket, but I am having a hard time understanding the patterns. Here's what the pattern says; ch 147, dc in 5th ch from the hook, dc in each of next 102 chs, [ch 2 loosely, sk next 2 chs, dc in each of next 2 chs] 10 times, turn. Could anyone please help me with this? Thank you

Last edited by crochet beginner; 03/16/14 06:24 AM.
Sponsored Post Advertisement
M
BellaOnline Editor
BellaOnline Editor
M
Hello crochet beginner. Welcome to the wonderful world of crochet. Sometimes I find it helpful to break a pattern down, step by step. I'm assuming that you are having trouble interpreting the pattern, so I've broken it down below. But if you're having a different problem, let us know and we'll do our best to help you figure it out.

In your example above, this is how I break it down

1. Make a chain of 147 stitches.

2. Then dc in 5th ch from the hook (this will count as your first double crochet)

3. Then dc into each of next 102 foundation chains (at this point, counting the dc in 5th ch from the hook above as your first dc, you have 103 dc made and a length of un-worked foundation chains.

4. Continuing on with the row - the next is written in brackets which indicates a repeated pattern and it says to repeat this pattern 10 times. So in the un-worked chains you will do this: chain 2, skip 2 un-worked foundation chains, double crochet into the next chain, then double crochet into the next chain after that. You should have moved head by four foundation chains.

5. After 10 repeats, you should have reached the end of the work and have 10 chain two spaces with 2 double crochets in between. You should be ready to turn the work and begin with the next row.

Melissa Rodriguez
A
A