logo
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#804182 02/03/13 05:10 AM
OP Offline
My sister recently asked about making a tee shirt quilt for my nephew who will be graduating from high school this spring. I've heard they're difficult and wonder if anyone has done this. His shirts are actually soccer jerseys so they aren't tee shirt material but a slicker, heavier fabric. Any ideas/suggestions greatly appreciated! Curlytop

Sponsored Post Advertisement
L
lmm Offline
L
I am no expert, but what I have done in the past is stablilise with iron on interfacing and then treat as other stabilised fabrics. It worked well for me in wall hangings that were quilted, from memory I did not extend the interfacing into the seam allowance in an attempt to reduce the bulk.

BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
That's what I'd be doing too Curlytop. The fabric of tshirts is knit fabric and tends to want to stretch at the drop of a hat. It's better to stabilise it with some iron on interfacing which will hold it whilst you put it into a qult formation.

Good luck and have fun.
Cheerio for now

Judie Bellingham
Editor Australia & Quilting Sites

www.bellaonline.com/site/australia
www.bellaonline.com/site/quilting
OP Offline
Thanks for the input. I'm going to try on a couple of old tee shirts while waiting for my sister to mail my nephew's jerseys. Curlytop

BellaOnline Editor
Shark
BellaOnline Editor
Shark
Let us know how you get on Curlytop. We'll be interested to see the final result.

Cheerio for now

Judie Bellingham

Sorry, no suggestions here, but I've got two piles of t's one for my son (little league-high school baseball) and one for my daughter, (cheerleading)and am nervous about getting these started. so, I'm hoping to see an answer for you/us too! so, in advance "Thanks quilters!!" Heather PS I've already bought a whole role of interfacing and am ready to go, except for the design and the nerve!

OP Offline