#803629 01/30/13 11:45 AM
K
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
K
Are you a scrapbooker starting with a ton of photos? This article offers help and ideas for storing and sorting all those photos.

Storing and Sorting Photos

Kathleen Rensel
Scrapbooking
Sponsored Post Advertisement
L
lmm Offline
L
Kathleen, I am new to scrapbooking and found this article interesting. i have many very old family photos, and I am currenlty in teh process of sorting these, placing with photo mounts onto acid free card, and storing in sealed archival storage bags. When it comes time to do the family tree scrapbook pages, is it best to use copies of these old photos for the scrapbook pages, that way I have the original. I am also making digital copies of the front and the back that has been written on to pass on to other family members. Any other ideas out there on dealing with old photos and scrapbooking them would be greatly appreciated.

K
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
K
Great to hear from you, lmm! Thanks for reading my article.

It sounds like you are taking great care of your photos. It's always good to make a copy and store it safely (from possible water, fire, etc. damage.) Personally, I use copies, especially if I'm doing any cutting/cropping. I would also consider who might be viewing the book - will it stay on a shelf or will children be going through it someday? If you feel confident that the copies are safe, you could use the originals.

Another idea... when you get the digital copies, make a digital album! Then, no one is touching originals and you can make multiple copies, if needed.

Kathleen Rensel
Scrapbooking
L
lmm Offline
L
I plan on giving all of the family members a copy of the digital photos on a CD, that way they will never be lost. But what do you mean a digital album? As I said I am very new to all of this.

K
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
OP Offline
BellaOnline Editor
Jellyfish
K