Do enjoy the article entitled What is Kwazaa?

In keeping with the informatory note of the article, I wanted to list The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa, also known as the Nguzo Saba of this lovely cultural celebration.

I also wanted to list the corresponding seven days, from December 26th (the beginning) through January 1st (commencement) because I once heard a man from another race call Kwanzaa a bull_ _ _ _ holiday...

To that I must say, Just because you cannot embrace another person�s culture or beliefs does not mean you have to be derogatory.

Ethnic beauties, I have also listed the names for each day, in English and Swahili...

December 26: Unity / Umoja � Participants are encouraged to strive for unity in the family and their community.

December 27: Self-Determination / Kugichagulia � Participants are encouraged to define themselves, speak for themselves and create for themselves.

December 28: Collective Work & Responsibility / Ujima � Participants are encouraged to build up their community, to work with others to solve problems.

December 29: Cooperative Economics / Ujamaa � Participants are encouraged to maintain or create businesses, and to profit from them together.

December 30: Purpose / Nia � Participants are encouraged to collectively build and develop their community, thereby restoring all to its former greatness.

December 31: Creativity / Kuumba � Participants are encouraged to always do as much as possible to leave their community more advantageous than they found it.

January 1: Faith / Imani � Participants are encouraged to believe in themselves, their leaders and the righteousness of all of the above.
April Alisa Marquette, Editor
Ethnic Beauty Website
Ethnic Beauty Forum

Visit for books you can't help but get into.
This holiday Give the gift of reading!